Telephone (US) +1 650-900-2039
Telephone (UK) +44 203 870 3205

What is the difference between Kontakt and Kontakt player?

Last updated:

Kontakt Player is a free version of the Kontakt sample playback engine available to download HERE. It works with libraries that the developer has paid a license fee for. Essentially, the developer buys you this playback engine.

The Kontakt player gives you full access to all the sounds and all the editable parameters on the front panel. Also, unlike non-Player libraries, these libraries will also have a banner that appears on the Kontakt Libraries pane.

If you want to go deeper into editing you’ll need a full version. As you will already own the free Kontakt player and have bought one of our 'player' libraries you will be eligible for a discount upgrade to Kontakt via the NI website. See HERE for more details.

Currently, these are our 'Player' Products:

Spitfire Symphonic Strings

Spitfire Symphonic Strings Evolutions

Spitfire Symphonic Woodwinds

Spitfire Symphonic Brass


Spitfire Chamber Strings

Spitfire Percussion

London Contemporary Orchestra Strings

Orchestral Swarm

Albion ONE

Albion II Loegria

Albion III Iceni

Albion IV Uist

Albion V Tundra

Bernard Herrmann Composer Toolkit

Hans Zimmer Percussion

Hans Zimmer Percussion Professional

HZ02 - Los Angeles

Hans Zimmer Piano

The Grange

eDNA Earth

Fanshawe Earth Encounters

If the library you want to use is NOT a 'Player' library, then you need to buy the full retail version of Kontakt.

Then you can also load 'non-Player' libraries like Spitfire LABS, Harp, Piano, Harpsichord, Solo Strings etc. Please note that non-Player library instruments will not appear on the Kontakt libraries pane and so can't be added as a library as Player libraries need to be. Instead, these libraries will need to be loaded via the Kontakt files browser or you can add the library as a favourite to the Kontakt Quick Load window.

Have more questions? Submit a request